Multidisciplinary Research Unit (MRU)


In the year 2013-14, the Government introduced the scheme of establishing Multidisciplinary Research Unit (MRUs) in Government Medical Colleges to strengthen research environment, bridge the gap in infrastructure inhibiting health research, and improve the overall health status of the population by creating evidence based application of diagnostic procedure/processes/methods.

So far 80 MRUs have been approved. Statement containing details of 80 units State/UT and medical college-wise is annexed.

Proposals for establishing new MRUs are received on continuous basis from all the States and Union Territories of India. These are considered in the Department as per the scheme guidelines. After completion of necessary requirements, approval for establishing MRUs is accorded.

The funding norms, as per scheme guidelines, provide for non-recurring and recurring grant in the following manner:

Non-Recurring Grant:

  1. Civil Construction — Rs. 0.25 crore

(ii) Equipments — Rs. 5.00  crore in 03 installments

Recurring Grant:

  1. Salaries — Rs. 0.252 crore

(ii) Contingencies — Rs. 0.222 crore

Funds of Rs. 26.25 crore have been disbursed during the last 03 years for establishing new MRUs as per the funding norms of the scheme.

Department of Health Research has a Central Sector Scheme titled “Setting-up of nation-wide network of laboratories for managing epidemics and national calamities”. The Scheme has mandate to create three tier networks of Virus Research and Diagnosis Laboratories at Regional Level, State level and Medical College Level for timely diagnosis/identification of viruses during outbreaks of epidemics and generation of data about viral diseases for facilitating quick deployment of resources & measures to save the human lives.

Regional Laboratories have state-of-art facilities so that it could achieve the objectives in research, continuous monitoring and surveillance of existing as well as new viral and other strains and handling of viruses etc. with a potential of being used as agents of bioterrorism, capacity building, diagnosis, development of diagnostic kits etc.

State Level Laboratories are equipped with BSL-2 facility and expected to carry out serology, RT-PCR, isolation, fluorescence microscopy, tissue culture and sequencing for all enlisted viruses. These laboratories are also expected to be involved in basic as well as applied research on viruses, development of kits and diagnostic reagents and identification of unknown/referred samples from the Sub-state level laboratories.

Medical College Laboratories, in case of any outbreak / epidemic, carry out the initial diagnosis/ screening at the most peripheral areas & nearest to the site of outbreak.  While the medical college labs are expected to identify all listed common viruses, the viruses/agents which cannot be identified by these labs are referred to the State/Regional Labs for identification and / or characterization.

Till date total 118 Labs- 10 Regional Level, 23 State Level and 85 Medical College Level Labs have been established across the country.

S.No Name of the approved medical college
1 Siddhartha Medical College, Vijaywada, Andhra Pradesh
2 Rangaraya Medical College, Kakinda, Andhra
3 Andhra Medical College, Visakhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh
4 SV Medical College, Tirupati, Andhra Pradesh
5 Osmania Medical College, Hyderabad, Telangana
6 Gandhi Medical College, Secunderabad, Telangana
7 Nizam Institute of Medical Science, Hyderabad, Telangana
8 Silcher Medical College and Hospital, Silcher, Assam
9 Zorhat Medical College, Zorhat, Assam
10 Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed Medical College, Barpeta, Assam
11 Pt. JNM Medical College, Raipur, Chhattisgarh
12 Pt. BD Sharma Medical College, Rohtak
13 MGM Medical College, Jamshedpur Jharkhand
14 Rajendra Institute of Medical Sciences, Ranchi, Jharkhand
15 Indira Gandhi Medical College, Shimla, H. P.
16 Dr. R.P. Govt. Medical College, Kangra at Tanda, H. P.
17 Dr. S.N. Medical College, Jodhpur, Rajasthan
18 Sardar Patel Medical College, Bikaner, Rajasthan.
19 J.L.N. Medical College & Associated Group of Hospital, Ajmer, Rajasthan
20 SMS Medical College, Jaipur. Rajasthan
21 R.N.T Medical College, Udaipur
22 Rajasthan University of Health Sciences, Jaipur, Rajasthan
23 Government Medical College, Kota, Rajasthan
24 Madras Medical College, ChennaiTamil Nadu
25 Tirunelveli Medical College, Tirunelveli, Tamil Nadu
26 Coimbatore Medical College, Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu
27 Dr.ALM Post Graduate Institute of Basic Medical Sciences, Taramani, Tamil Nadu
28 Medical College, Tanjavur, Tamil Nadu
29 Govt. Mohan Kumaramangalam Medical College, Salem, Tamil Nadu
30 Govt. Theni Medical College, Theni, Tamil Nadu
31 Chengalpattu Medical College, Chengalpattu, Tamil Nadu
32 Madurai Medical College, Madurai, Tamil Nadu
33 Agartala Govt. Medical College, Agartala, Tripura
34 Govt. Medical College, Haldwani, Uttarakhand
35 Veer Chandra Singh Garhwali Govt Medical Science & Research Institute, Srinagar, Uttarakhand
36 R.G. Kar Medical College, Kolkata, West Bengal
37 Medical College & Hospital , Kolkata, West Bengal
38 Institute of  Post Graduate  Medical College  Education & Research , Kolkata,

West Bengal

39 Nil RatanSirkar Medical  College, Kolkata, West Bengal
40 University College of Medical Sciences, Delhi
41 VallabhBhai Patel Chest Institute, Delhi
42 Maulana Azad Medical College, New Delhi
43 S.S. Medical College, Rewa, Madhya Pradesh
44 NetajiSubhash Chandra Bose Medical College, Jabalpur, Madhya Pradesh
45 M.G.M. Medical College, Indore,Madhya Pradesh
46 Gandhi Medical College, Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh
47 GR Medical College, Gwalior, Madhya Pradesh
48 S.C.B. Medical College, Cuttack, Odisha
49 VSS Medical College, Burla, Odisha
50 M.K.C.G. Medical College, Berhampur,, Odisha
51 Goa Medical College, Goa
52 Seth G.S Medical College & KEM Hospital Mumbai, Maharashtra
53 Dr. Vaishampayan Memorial Government Medical College, Sholapur, Maharashtra
54 Armed Forces Medical College, Pune, Maharashtra
55 B.J. Medical College, Pune, Maharashtra*
56 G.S.V.M Medical College, Kanpur Uttar Pradesh
57 King George Medical University, Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh
58 Institute of Medical Sciences, Banaras Hindu University, Banaras, Utttar Pradesh
59 Rural Institute of Medical Sciences & Research, Safai, Etawah Uttar Pradesh
60 Indira Gandhi Institute of Medical Sciences, Patna, Bihar
61 Dharwad Institute of Medical Sciences, Dharwad, Karnataka
62 Mandya Medical College, Karnataka
63 Karnataka Institute of Medical Sciences, Hubli, Karnataka
64 ShimogaInstt. Of Medical Sciences, Shimoga, Karnataka
65 Mysore Medical College, Mysore, Karnataka
66 Hassan Institute of Medical Sciences, Hassan, Karnataka
67 Govt. Medical College, Jammu, J&K
68 Govt. Medical College, Srinagar, J&K
69 Sher-i-Kashmir Medical College, Srinagar, J&K
70 M.P.Shah Medical College, Jamnagar, Gujarat
71 SMIMER, Surat, Gujarat
72 Medical College, Thiruvanthapuram, Kerala
73 Calicut Medical College, Kerala
74 Govt. medical College, Kottayam, Kerala
75 Govt. medical College, Amritsar Punjab
76 Govt. Medical College, Patiala Punjab
77 Guru Gobind Singh Medical College, Faridkot, Punjab
78 Government Medical College, Chandigarh
79 Regional Institute of Medical Sciences, Imphal, Manipur
80 AIIMS, Rishikesh

* Funds could not be released as the matter is under discussion with the State Government.

The Minister of State (Health and Family Welfare), Sh. Ashwini Kumar Choubey stated this in a written reply in the Lok Sabha here today.