Preservation of Historical Monuments


There are 3693 monuments of national importance under protection of Archaeological Survey of India. The encroachment in the premises of the protected monuments/area are removed as per the provisions contained in the Ancient Monuments and Archaeological Sites and Remains Act, 1958 and Rules framed thereunder.

The Superintending Archaeologist in charge of the Circles has also been vested with the powers of an Estate Officer to issue eviction notices/orders to the encroachers under Public Premises (Eviction of Unauthorised Occupants) Act, 1971. Assistance in containing and removing encroachments is also sought from the respec

tive State Government/Police force and where there are no fruitful results, actions are initiated against the encroachers by filing cases in the court of law.  Regular watch and ward staff, private security personnel, State Police guards and CISF have also been provided for the safety and security of selected monuments.

The Archaeological Survey of India has a list of 24 monuments which remain untraceable.  The Archaeological Survey of India has made efforts to locate/identify the untraceable monuments through field offices based on inspection, old records, revenue maps and published reports.

State-wise list of Centrally Protected Monuments/Sites in the country

Sl.No. Name of State / U.T. No. of Monuments
Andhra Pradesh 135
Arunachal Pradesh 03
Assam 55
Bihar 70
Chhattisgarh 46
Daman & Diu (U.T.) 11
Goa 21
Gujarat 203
Haryana 91
Himachal Pradesh 40
Jammu & Kashmir (U.T.) 56
Jharkhand 13
Karnataka 506
Kerala 29
Ladakh (U.T.) 15
Madhya Pradesh 291
Maharashtra 286
Manipur 01
Meghalaya 08
Mizoram 01
Nagaland 04
N.C.T. Delhi 173
Odisha 80
Puducherry (U.T.) 07
Punjab 33
Rajasthan 163
Sikkim 03
Telangana 08
Tamilnadu 412
Tripura 08
Uttar Pradesh 743
Uttarakhand 43
West Bengal 135
TOTAL 3693

This information was given by the Minister of State (I/c) of Culture and Tourism, Shri Prahlad Singh Patel in a written reply in the Rajya Sabha today.